Math Club
  • 1       3 

    Who can be in Math Club?

    Any student who is interested in tackling interesting and challenging math problems and puzzles.  There will be opportunities to work as part of a small group as well as individually.  

    How do I sign up?
    Text @NesbittMa to 81010.  This will add you to the Remind group to get text message announcements.  You can also see Mrs. Webster for more information about the club.

    AMC 10 and 12
    Tues Feb 7, 2017
    Wed Feb 15, 2017

    A 75 minute test held at the school.  Mrs. Webster has years of practice test and solutions. Ask if you would like practice materials.
    Link to Videos of AMC Problems and Solutions

    College of Charleston Math Meet

    Fri Feb 10-Sat Feb 11, 2017
    A variety of team and individual events held on the beautiful College of Charleston campus in downtown Charleston.

    Practice Items Team and Individual Events

    Moody's Mega Math Challenge
    Fri Feb 24- Sun Feb 27, 2017  [14 consecutive hours within this window]
    A mathematical modeling contest for juniors and seniors where students experience what it's like to work as a team (5 members) to tackle a real-world problem under time constraints, akin to those faced by professional mathematicians working in industry.  At least $150,000 in scholarships awarded each year.
    Link to Sample Challenges

    Furman Mathematics Tournament
    Saturday March 18, 2017
    A written test and a ciphering event held on the campus of Furman University.
    Link to Samples

    WCU Region Math Competition
    Thursday March 23, 2017
    Our biggest mathematics event of the year!  We take a large team to compete against other schools in Western North Carolina.  The written test is taken individually, and scores are compiled for both individual and school team results.  
    Nesbitt will hold practice sessions on the following dates:
    Thurs 2/16/17 from 2:30-4:30
    Thurs 2/23/17 from 2:30-4:30
    Tuesday 3/7/17 from 2:30-4:30
    Tuesday 3/14/17 from 2:30-4:30
    Tuesday 3/21/17 from 2:30-4:30
    See Mrs. Webster for more details.
    Go to agora.cs.wcu.edu/mathcontest/index.html for released tests from prior years.

    Western Region Math Fair
    Saturday March 25, 2017
    Individual or partner projects presented on the campus of Appalachian University.

    Mathematical Puzzle Program (MaPP) hosted by WCU
    Saturday April 1, 2017
    Teams of 5-8 students will solve puzzles, break codes, and engage with exciting new areas of mathematics.  Event is held on the campus of Western Carolina University.  This year, the game begins with a puzzle that takes place throughout WCU's campus, so players are encouraged to bring cell phones for communication. 
    Link to Samples


1  2

 
2

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.